Connecticut is classified as having a temperate climate and its temperatures generally fall between 23°F to 82°F. Despite its relatively moderate climate, the state may experience heavy snowfall in some areas, especially in the northwest, and may dip into temperatures that fall just under 10°F. The state keeps HVAC professionals in constant demand due to its variety of conditions throughout the year.
Connecticut HVAC License Options
HVAC technicians in Connecticut must obtain a license through the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection. There are over 20 different license options available, each having their own specific requirements. Those who wish to obtain a contactor license must work for at least 2 years at the journeyman level or have adequate work experience and training.
The following license options are the main licenses available for HVAC technicians in Connecticut:
- D-1: Limited Warm Air, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractor
- D-2: Limited Warm Air, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Journeyman
- D-3: Limited Cooling Contractor, D-4: Limited Cooling Journeyman
- S-1: Unlimited Heating, Piping, and Cooling Contractor
- S-2: Unlimited Heating, Piping, and Cooling Journeyman
- S-3: Limited Heating, Piping, and Cooling Contractor
- S-4: Limited Heating, Piping, and Cooling Journeyman
- S-5: Limited Heating, Hot Water and Steam Contractor
- S-6: Limited Heating, Hot Water and Steam Journeyman
- S-7: Limited Contractor
- S-8: Limited Journeyman
- S-9: Limited Heating and Cooling Contractor
- S-10: Limited Heating and Cooling Journeyman
There are also license options available for:
- B-1: Limited Gas and Oil Burner Contractor
- B-3: Limited Gas and Oil Burner Contractor
- G-1: Limited Heating, Piping and Cooling Contractor
Connecticut HVAC Education
Connecticut offers numerous HVAC education programs either in the form of apprenticeships or certificate and degree programs. Those who wish to enroll in an apprenticeship program should seek out work with either Entech in conjunction with the Connecticut Department of Labor Apprenticeship program or the State of Connecticut Plumbers & Pipefitters Local 777. Those who seek traditional education may obtain a degree or certificate at the Bristol Technical Education Center, the Industrial Management Training Institute, Lincoln Technical Institute, or Porter and Chester Institute.
Connecticut HVAC Exam Overview
HVAC professionals in Connecticut must take the trade exam in order to obtain licensure. Depending on the specialty, the exam may last anywhere from 2 to 3 hours and contain up to 80 multiple choice questions. All exams require a minimum score of 70% to pass. Those who plan on working as contractors must also pass the business and law exam.
Connecticut EPA Section 608 Certification
The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) requires all HVAC technicians that work with refrigerants to be certified. In order to obtain EPA certification, HVAC technicians must take an exam which has 80 multiple choice questions that must be completed within 3 hours. A score of 70% is required to pass the exam and the exam fee is $120.
The three different EPA certification types that HVAC technicians can acquire are Type I, II and III. Type I limits HVAC technicians to working on appliances which contain no more than five pounds of refrigerant. Type II permits HVAC technicians to perform work on high pressure appliances. Type III limits HVAC technicians to working on low-pressure appliances. This certification is transferable among all states and does not expire.
Connecticut HVAC Salary
HVAC professionals in Connecticut earn on average $54,660 per year with the top 10% earning over $83,000 annually. Cities which pay the highest rates include Bridgeport, Stamford, Norwalk and New Haven with average annual salaries of $61,000 t0 $65,000. HVAC professionals in Connecticut are generally required to obtain licensure prior to work.