Utah is known for having an overall dry climate and the state generally experiences warm summers along with cold winters. The average annual temperature of Utah is around 48.6 ° F but temperatures typically range from as low as the mid-20s during the winter up to the low 90s during the summer. Utah rank as the 18th coldest state for winter in the U.S. placing professionals with a Utah HVAC license in high demand during this time of the year.
Utah does not require its HVAC technicians to obtain licensure however HVAC contractors must obtain a license through the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing.
Utah HVAC License Requirements
In Utah HVAC professionals must obtain a Utah Contractor’s license in order to perform HVAC related work throughout the state. There are several types of HVAC licenses available for contractors which include S350 for heating, ventilation and air conditioning, S351 for refrigeration air conditioning, S352 for evaporative cooling, S353 for warm air heating, S354 for radon mitigation and S360 for refrigeration. In order to obtain licensure HVAC contractors must have at least 4 years of related work experience along with liability and worker’s compensation insurance.
The application fee for obtaining licensure in the HVAC professional’s primary field of work is $200. If an HVAC professionals wishes to obtain licensure in additional areas the application fee is $100 per category.
Utah HVAC Education
Utah offers several options for HVAC education ranging from apprenticeships to certificate and degree programs. Options for HVAC schools include Davis Applied Technology College, Dixie Applied Technology College, Mountainland Applied Technology College, Ogden-Weber Applied Technology College, Salt Lake Community College, and Weber State University. Davis Applied Technology College and Dixie Applied Technology College are both accredited by the Council on Occupational Education (COE). Salt Lake Community College and Weber State University are accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.
Utah HVAC Exam Overview
HVAC professionals in Utah must take both the business and law exam as well as the trade exam before they are able to perform HVAC related work. Prior to taking these exams HVAC professionals must have a minimum of 4 years working under HVAC contractor supervision. The HVAC exam is 3 hours long and is made up of 75 multiple choice questions. A score of 70% is needed to pass the exam. The business and law exam is 2 hours long and is made up of 60 questions. A score of 70% is also needed to pass this exam. Both the trade exam and the business and law exam cost $75.
Utah EPA Section 608 Certification
The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) requires all HVAC technicians that work with refrigerants to be certified. In order to obtain EPA certification, HVAC technicians in Utah must take an exam which has 80 multiple choice questions that must be completed within 3 hours. A score of 70% is required to pass the exam and the exam fee is $120.
The three different EPA certification types that HVAC technicians can acquire are Type I, II and III. Type I limits HVAC technicians to working on appliances which contain no more than five pounds of refrigerant. Type II permits HVAC technicians to perform work on high pressure appliances. Type III limits HVAC technicians to working on low-pressure appliances. This certification is transferable among all states and does not expire.
Utah HVAC Salary
HVAC technicians in Utah earn on average around $46,000 per year with the top 20% of HVAC professionals earning over $75,000 annually. Cities in Utah that pay the highest rates for HVAC professionals include Salt Lake City, Saint George and Ogdon.