Michigan tends to be one of the colder US states. Its winter months may experience lows within the teens and highs within the 30s at best. Summer months are quite tolerable with temperatures generally not exceeding the low 80s. Professionals with a Michigan HVAC license are in extremely high demand during the frigid months of November through February.
Michigan HVAC License Options
Michigan does not issue state-level licensing for HVAC professionals, rather cities issue HVAC licenses for specific system types with each having their own experience and exam requirements.
Common forms of licensing available at the city level include first, second, and third class refrigeration as well as high pressure and low pressure boiler operator licenses.
First class refrigeration licensing requires 2 years of work experience along with the successful completion of a 200 question exam.
The second class refrigeration license also requires 2 years of work experience but requires the successful completion of a 100 question exam.
The third class refrigeration license requires applicants to have at least 3 months of experience in refrigeration.
High pressure boiler licenses require applicants to either have 2 years of work experience or to successfully complete a boiler operator program along with an exam. The low pressure boiler operator licensure requires applicants to complete either 1 year of work experience or to successfully complete a boiler operator program along with an exam. Cities in Michigan which usually require technicians to have licensure include Dearborn, Detroit, Grand Rapids and Saginaw. All technician licenses must be renewed ever 2 years where as mechanical contractor licenses must be renewed every three years.
Michigan HVAC Education
Michigan has over 16 programs which offer HVAC education including Delta College, Jackson Community College, Kirtland Community College, Northwestern Technological Institute and Grand Rapids Community College. Grand Rapids Community College is the most renown out of all schools due to its PAHRA accreditation.
Michigan HVAC Exam Overview
The HVAC exam is 4 hours long and contains 100 multiple choice questions. A minimum score of 70% is required to pass. HVAC contractors must also pass the business and law exam in addition to the HVAC exam. This exam is 2 hours long and has 50 multiple choice questions. A minimum score of 70% is required to pass.
Michigan EPA Section 608 Certification
The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) requires all HVAC technicians that work with refrigerants to be certified. In order to obtain EPA certification, HVAC technicians must take an exam which has 80 multiple choice questions that must be completed within 3 hours. A score of 70% is required to pass the exam and the exam fee is $120.
The three different EPA certification types that HVAC technicians can acquire are Type I, II and III. Type I limits HVAC technicians to working on appliances which contain no more than five pounds of refrigerant. Type II permits HVAC technicians to perform work on high pressure appliances. Type III limits HVAC technicians to working on low-pressure appliances. This certification is transferable among all states and does not expire.
Michigan HVAC Salary
HVAC professionals in Michigan earn on average $45,000 per year with the top 10% earning over $68,000 annually. Cities which pay HVAC professionals the highest rates include Ann Arbor, Flint, Monroe and Saginaw with salaries ranging from $50,000 to over $82,000 annually.